Welcome, Sound.

A music production odyssey.

What is sampling?

leave a comment »

This week, I’m going to take some time to talk about sampling, what it is, how I do it and what my take is on what is okay and not. Everyone has a different opinion on the topic, so do leave a comment and let me know what you think!

I use a lot of samples, so it’s a topic rather close to my heart. So. According to Wikipedia sampling is “is the act of taking a portion, or sample, of one sound recording and reusing it as an instrument or a different sound recording of a song”.

I think its quite a decent definition. But I think it can be expanded. To me, sampling is not merely taking a sound from somewhere, and putting it into another track somewhere else. To me, sampling is the creation of a new instrument the sound of which is made up of the samples you take from other songs.
In other words, using a sample is not merely the act of taking an 8 bar loop from an old record and slapping it into your own track. I think sampling is about finding another meaning to the sound you’re using.

Amon Tobin is the true king of that. His music, to me, is about finding a new use for old sounds and thus giving them a second life. I think that in the future, others will sample Amon Tobin’s records, and give the samples he uses yet another life.
The great thing is, not just old sounds can be used. I often record my own samples. Take a guitar loop I record, cut it up and make something new out of it. It’s quite excellent.

What’s your opinion on the topic? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

Written by majorshake

April 25, 2011 at 2:55 am

Posted in Features

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

