Welcome, Sound.

A music production odyssey.

Don’t make good music.

leave a comment »

Recently, I have been reading a lot of John Cage’s writings. Particularly his book titled Silence, which I can’t recommend enough.
One thing that really comes through strongly in this collection of essays articles and lectures is his attitude for music.  Today, I want to talk about my attitude for our art.

I don’t want to make good music. Some might be satisfied with it. It might even get you radio play and fame. I want to make music that will blow people’s minds. Thats not good music. It’s amazing music.

The kind of music I want to make, is what will force you to listen. It will grab you and touch you in ways not even a catholic priest could. I want to make music that you won’t be able to ignore.

The kind of music I want to make, will be unlike anything you have ever heard before. When Cage wrote 4’33 it wasn’t great because it was difficult to perform. Hell, my dog can perform it. The greatness lies in the idea. Nobody ever considered silence to be as important an instrument as the piano or violin or anything else. Nobody has ever heard anything like that before. That’s what I want to do.

I don’t want to make good music.

Written by majorshake

May 9, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Leave a Reply

