Welcome, Sound.

A music production odyssey.

Why Ableton Live 8 is my weapon of choice.

leave a comment »

Today I’m going to talk a little bit about why I chose Ableton Live as my DAW of choice.

For the sake of transparency, I’ll just say that I have nothing to do with the good people at Ableton, however I do believe that they make excellent software.

The first thing that was really important to me was the speed of workflow. Previously, working in Garageband, I built loops and then arranged them however I pleased. Actually, that is still how I compose most of my music. Live’s session view allows me to do precisely that in a very very efficient way. Each clip is a loop. Then in arrangement view I can arrange all of the parts of my songs how I please.

The second thing that really endeared me to the software was how complete it was. I got the Suite version, with all of their instruments and whatnot, and most things that I ever need to do, I can do within the software. I don’t actually use any vst’s and right now I don’t need to. Naturally, I will eventually, because it’s good to expand one’s options, and I’ll write about that when I get there as well.

The third, and last thing that I want to talk about today is the notoriety of the software. Just about every producer you ever read about uses Ableton Live 8. As much as I don’t think you need every tool that your idols use, if you want to be the best, you should use at least the main tools the best use. Also, Aphex Twin uses Live. Enough said.

Written by majorshake

May 25, 2011 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

