Welcome, Sound.

A music production odyssey.

Dominate the music industry one niche at a time

leave a comment »

Today I want to talk a little about an approach to music that I’ve read about somewhere a long time ago, and its just stayed in my head since. I can’t remember exactly where I read about this, so I apologize for not referencing.

The idea is simple in our heads, isn’t it? Make music, sell records, make a living.
The idea of how to get there, probably isn’t as simple anymore. For good reason, nobody will actually give you a list of things you need to do in order to make it in the industry. So the guess work begins.

I like to think, that the most important thing, is to be really good. Like, so good that nobody can ignore you even if they wanted to. So good that people will want to tell other people about it.
The second thing, and that is the one I will talk about today, is breaking the plan down into steps that you can achieve.
I’m sure we all have our own outlets where we post up our music. I use soundcloud, youtube and I go on a few forums. I want to dominate those few outlets before I can move on. The IDMforums run a netlabel. In the future I would like them to release some of my music. I want to have a certain amount of Souncloud followers and Youtube subscribers.

The reason for me aiming reasonably low in the spectrum (considering I could say, be going for selling millions of albums) is that I can’t possibly expect to make it huge, if I can’t even shine among the thousands of people on youtube and soundcloud and the forums doing the same thing. Once I achieve the goals I set myself now, I’ll set other ones, more powerful ones. The point is, they will be solid signs that I am getting somewhere.

By dominating at a niche site like Soundcloud I can show to myself and to others that I have what it takes.

Where do you promote your music, and how much success have you had with dominating your niche? Let me know in the comments!

Written by majorshake

June 13, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Posted in Motivation

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

